Goal Setting

GreenI’ve been having a bit of “writerly angst” the last few days. I’m having trouble reconciling the amount of time I spent on my writing with what need to be done in my life. We’re struggling financially– my husband is self-employed and I don’t work outside the home. This is a major stress trigger for me. Now that both boys are in school full time many people (some in my family, some not) wonder why I’m not working. Hubby and I have talked about this. We both think it’s important for one of us to be home after school and since hubby has no set schedule, I need to be there. Have you ever tried to find a job with hours only during school hours and with summers off? Aside from teaching (or another school related job) it’s impossible. And all this leads me to question just what I’m doing in my life.

I feel that I should somehow be making money with my writing, but fiction isn’t something you go into to make money. My current short story has been rejected by several magazines and I’m running out of places that print genre pieces. I know it’s just one story and I should not base my future on it, but sometimes it’s a struggle to keep going. My creative endeavors feel selfish and impractical.

All this lead me to my latest procrastination– Tera’s Wish. I’ve already spent half the day reading and following links but I think it’s been worthwhile. I need to spend some time writing out my goals– for everything, not just writing. I think I feel so stuck and frustrated because I don’t know where I’m going in many aspects of my life.

2 Responses

  1. So sorry you are going through all this questioning. I fully agree with having someone home before/after school. My husband went to eight hours a week when I started work full time so he could take care of school stuff. Your story is good, I hope you don’t give up on it. I’ve found with writerly angst, that it comes and goes and if I hang in there, the joy will return.

    Lisa PT

  2. I know those feelings. And yea I can see your post, LOL! My youngest will start school in August and it is all I can do from not being consumed with guilt for not finding a job

Leave a Reply

