Do You NaNo?

nano_participant_icon_small.gifIn just 10 days the madness will start. NaNoWriMo (be patient with the link– the site is always overtaxed about now). If you’ve never heard of it before, it’s a month long novel writing marathon. 50,000 words in 30 days. The most important thing I’ve gained from past years is the ability to let a bit of control go. I tend to over plan and this is a great way to get over it. Sometimes it’s good to have a deadline and a multitude of people sharing it. I have a rough idea this year. In fact I have two.

  • One: I can write the next book in my fantasy series (the first is almost completely polished and query ready! If only I could stop dragging my feet on getting it out!)
  • Two: I had a scene come to me (I think I actually dreamed it) and it is haunting me– in a good way. It wants to be written. It’s begging me to put my winged characters on hold. I may give in.

See, here’s the problem. I want to get the second book written. I don’t want to keep saying I’ll write it then never do it. BUT I’m afraid to rush through it (as happens with NaNo) and declare it’s not GOOD enough and abandon it. I’d much rather risk characters that I have no vested interest in.

BTW- over there I am Shiny_Penguin. I don’t do much forum posting, but feel free to look me up!

Leave a Reply

