Got A New Lens!

I ordered a new lens for my D40 since I was very frustrated when trying to photograph animals. Apparently birds and woodchucks and the like don’t particularly enjoy being stalked. I ordered a Nikon 55mm – 200mm f/4-5.6G ED-IF AF-S DX VR from Adorama and am quite happy with it. I’d never ordered camera equipment online before, but I saw them recommended on several forums, so gave them a try. They had free standard shipping, but I opted the $1.95 for the 3 day shipping. I ordered on Tuesday evening and had my lens yesterday afternoon! So I tried out a few shots.

Here is Simon from across the room. Whenever he sees the camera he looks at me as if to say “Why do you keep looking at me? Did I do something wrong?” I do have a problem with photographing him. Every time, his fur looks very grainy, like I over sharpened the picture. I think it may be the contrast of color combined with lighting, but I wish I could figure out how to fix it other than softening it in the editor.

And I caught Pixel rubbing up against Tasha. He’s a little out of focus and washed out (I was still trying to get the hang of the vibration control).

One Response

  1. What wonderful pictures. If this is what you get before you get the hang of it I can’t wait to see what you’ll do in the future.

    — Lisa PT

Leave a Reply

