Working on Shoot! The Day

In the comments, Ann asked to see pictures of the lightbox I made.  I pulled it out today to work on Shoot! The Day and as I gathered my various supplies, I acquired a ‘helper’.

Here is what my light box looks like:

I cut openings with about a 2 inch border into two sides and the top.  They are covered with tissue paper (the kind of sheets you put in a gift bag.  I also saw tracing paper could be used).  Covering with tissue paper was the hardest part.  I think tracing paper would have been easier since it is slightly thicker, but my box was too big for the pad of tracing paper I have.  It is also too big for the posterboard I bought.  I forgot to take a shot of the inside, but I curve the poster board from the top back down to in front of the camera.  This way the background is a seamless white.  I tried another shot after reading up on the technique a bit (at School of Stock).  seems my lighting was too low and I need to over expose more:

I’m taking a break from shooting because I forgot to charge my camera battery last night.  Even though I knew I was going to do this today.  Is that self-sabotage or what?  I’ll get more in later this afternoon.  Maybe even some with the kid if he is OK with being mom’s model 🙂

2 Responses

  1. Thanks! (Cute Kitty!)

  2. Wow, that is just a gorgeous idea. I had no idea it would be so easy and inexpensive to make a light box. Will have to try this out myself.

Leave a Reply

