Lesson 1 – Composition And Impact

I’m going through Lesson 1 of the photo course, all about composition– the rule of thirds and the golden mean.  the first assignment is:

Take at least one abstract photo based entirely on some of the compositional rules we talked about. Subjects should not be recognizable.

I’m not entirely satisfied with my results  With the first I went with a triangle– When you take a photograph in a rectangular frame, basing the composition on a triangle that goes from any one corner to the two opposite sides… I think this is an overly common image.

For the next one I tried a leading line, although I don’t think the line showed up all that well.

Maybe I’m just not meant to take abstract photos 🙂  I still have to try assignment two- Students will take pictures of a subject from various viewpoints (near, far, from above, below, behind). Creativity is encouraged. Although I’ve already figured out that most subjects benefit from a close-up.

3 Responses

  1. I like the basket weave photo, more for the use of repetition than the triangle — a line formation I don’t see in any photo easily.

    I like the feeling of motion in the blue photo. The material looks like waves of water. Sorry, I don’t see the leading line.

    I don’t think you’re as bad at abstracts as you think. I find them challenging too, but hope to improve through this course.

    Nice job!

  2. In the blue one, the line isn’t visible at all. I made one in the material by bunching it up, but it didn’t translate well to the picture (I almost wrote FILM there!) Maybe if I had changed the lighting…

    I do love the color of it because it looks like water– it’s a scarf I’m knitting during my sons’ karate class each week. Thanks for the encouragement.

  3. Laura, I like the texture in both shots. And I was going to say the same thing about the repetition in the first shot.

    I’m not a big fan of abstracts either, but I have learned a lot from this first lesson, and I think one thing the abstract lesson has taught me is to look for pleasing, interesting elements in other shots. So I guess it’s been a worthwhile experiment!

Leave a Reply

